Why Tralee is AMAZING

Hi guys,

OK so I just wrote a post but I’m sitting here in bed with a damaged hamstring and sleep is nowhere near and I’ve Kelly Clarkson on Spotify to  keep my company… ANYWAY, I decided to let you all in on a few secrets as to why Tralee is the best place in Kerry and why it will always have a special place in my heart!

So if you have read my summer blogs, you will know that I lived with my Grandparents in Tralee for the summer (If you haven’t read them, you should be ashamed and go back and read them IMMEDIATELY after finishing this post xoxo). So during my summer, I experienced the best of Tralee.

  1. The Food
    There are two places in Tralee that I would absolutely, 100% insist on that people visit. The first one is a daytime restaurant/ café, open between 9 am and 6 pm every day. locally it has the reputation of being the ‘burritos place’ but it does soo much more! DISH (the name of the restaurant) does amazing coffee, I called in there every morning on the way to work to get my morning dose of caffeine and honestly it couldn’t have been better! In addition to amazing coffee and burritos, they make  and serve dishes varying from Bacon and Cabbage (an Irish staple) to Nachos to Lasagna to quesadillas. The owner is in fact from Tralee, not Mexico despite what his menu may suggest and he will frequently be the smiling face behind the counter when you first go in. Dish also offer an amazing range of gluten-free options that actually taste good as opposed to the cardboard that you can be served in some places.
    The second place is a French bistro called Chez Christophe. This place is where I went to celebrate my 21st birthday! The food is to die for! It would be more expensive than Dish but worth every penny. If you are looking for somewhere nice to go for an evening meal in Tralee, Chez Christophe is where to go. My suggestion: Have the cassolette of prawns and crab claws!
    Dish: Russel Street, Tralee, Co. Kerry (across the road from the Bróg). 0667185544

    Chez Christophe: 6 Courthouse Lane, Tralee (Soon to be 11 Courthouse Lane) 0667181562.

  2. The Beaches
    So once again if you have been following me for a while, you will know that the beach is my happy place. There are two main beaches for me that I want to tell you about, the first is Fenit. Fenit is  famous for being a harbour and also being a blue flag beach, meaning that a beach, marina or sustainable boating tourism operator meets its stringent standards. Fenit also has a lighthouse that looks really pretty (trust me, I have it as the lock screen on my phone :P)
    Banna Strand is a historically famous beach in Irish history, particularly in relation to the 1916 Rising. Roger Casement who was involved in arms trafficking during the  rebellion, was arrested on Banna Strand as he was landing weapons from a German U-boat for the Rebellion. (Sorry trying not to go too deep into the history of it..)  In addition to being historic, its my happy place. Whenever I was having a bad day or needed to clear my head, Banna is where I would go. Walks there and swims there made everything seem ok. I have some great memories from this summer based in Banna.

FenitBANNA

4. The Rose of Tralee

So the Rose of Tralee is an international festival that is held in Tralee (duhh..) every year that celebrates women. The women come from all over the world to celebrate their Irish heritage. The festival also brings with it street entertainment, carnival, live concerts, theatre, circus, markets, fun fair, fireworks and Rose Parades. For the local people my age, the festival is an excuse to go out on school nights and have a bit of fun! 😛 So Kathy did as Kathy does and made some questionable decisions over the course of the festival.. My aunt even made me go out two nights in a row 😛 This was my first year being in Tralee for the festival and it was one of the best weekends all summer.

ROT

 

So I hope you now realize why this small town in Kerry means so much to me. It is close to both Dingle and Killarney for day trips (and more reasonable accommodation). A friend of mine told me ‘Tralee would be a great town if it wasn’t in Kerry’, to which I disagree, Tralee is a great town because it’s in Kerry.

Ok, write soon,

Thanks for reading,

Love always,

Kathy ❤

Leave a Reply

