Back to Normality

Hey Guys!

So I have been really bad for updating recently! Life had been kinda hectic, the good kind of hectic though! 🙂 Last year in Uni I signed up to be a Peer Support Leader (PSL). So this is a program that matches a group of incoming freshers with a student who is usually doing the same course as them. So I am doing Commerce and Hispanic Studies so I was linked the this years 1st years of Comm Spanish! I had so much fun giving them orientation! I gave them a campus tour, played icebreakers with them, got them registered and basically just had a bit of craic with them and introduced them to college life in the best way (even if I do say so myself..) I had another few groups in the week and a half leading up to going back to college. It was a great way to ease myself back into the early mornings and it reminded me of how much I really miss college and of how beautiful my campus is!

So a normal college year for me consists of 65 credits with most subjects weighing 5 credits each (I’m taking 25 credits of Hispanic modules this year :O). So in addition to my usual 60 credits, I am carrying forward a subject from first year so I will have a 65 credit year which is going to be kind intense! I’m happy to be back and the 65 is a lot better that just repeating a 5 credit module which is just 2 lectures and a tutorials a week for 12 weeks!

Do I’ve any tips for going back to college/ school??  Well here is a few I have tried out this year in the hopes of trying to get my life together! 🙂

  1. Make yourself out a timetable! add in study time, gym time, tutorials, practicals, lectures the whole lot! I spent a good two hours today trying to organize and sort out my timetable, make a typed out version and input it all into google calendars.. and gave all my subjects different colors.. 😀
  2. Get a planner. I didn’t have the money to buy a new fancy one so I made one myself! I got a cute notebook from Tiger for about €3, a pack of colored pens and decorated it myself! Even just being back at college for a few weeks, I know that it is going to come in handy in my attempt to stay organised
  3. Prepare your lunch the night before. so  I am the worlds worst at doing this. I am gluten intolerant so if I want to bring a roll to college, I have to make it the morning of as it is too dry to make the night before. So this week I decided I was going to try to bring a lunchbox of fried rice with me and heat it up in college! It really worked and its something I’m going to start bringing much more!
  4. Makeup – This might not apply to everyone but I always feel much more put together and ready to take on the day when I have on a face of makeup. That being said I’m never prepared enough in the mornings to do it so I bring my makeup with me and put it on between/ before/ after my first lecture so I am ready to go! I also go straight from college to work some days so I need to have my makeup done!

Do any of you guys have any tips for going back to school/ college/ life in general??

Talk soon,

Thanks for reading,

Kathy ❤

 

Leave a Reply

